2017 Taxpayers' Friend Award Winners

Every year National Taxpayers Union (NTU) rates U.S. Representatives and Senators on their actual votes--every vote that affects taxes, spending, and debt. Unlike most organizations that publish ratings, we refuse to play the "rating game" of focusing on only a handful of congressional votes on selected issues. The NTU voting study is the fairest and most accurate guide available on congressional spending. It is a completely unbiased accounting of votes.

  • Click here for a printable PDF of NTU's Rates Congress 2017. 
  • Click here view the NTU Rates Congress Results for the 1st Session of the 115th Congress.
  • You may view the 2017 list of Taxpayers' Friends in the House and Senate here.
  • To view the list of votes used to establish the NTU Ratings, please click here.
  • NTU's press release for the 2017 Rating is found here.

NTU believes a score qualifying for a grade of “A” indicates the member is one of the strongest supporters of responsible tax and spending policies. We are pleased to give these members of Congress our “Taxpayers’ Friend Award.”

115th Congress, 1st Session: House

1. Representative F. James Sensenbrenner, Jr. (R-WI)
2. Representative Steve Scalise (R-LA)
3. Representative Paul A. Gosar, D.D.S (R-AZ)
4. Representative Luke Messer (R-IN)
5. Representative Thomas Garrett (R-VA)
6. Representative Dr. Andy Harris (R-MD)
7. Representative Todd Rokita (R-IN)
8. Representative Mo Brooks (R-AL)
9. Representative Jim Jordan (R-OH)
10. Representative David Brat (R-VA)
11. Representative Scott DesJarlais (R-TN)
12. Representative Barry Loudermilk (R-GA)
13. Representative Mark Meadows (R-NC)
14. Representative Gary Palmer (R-AL)
15. Representative Trey Hollingsworth (R-TN)
16. Representative Scott Perry (R-PA)
17. Representative Ted Budd (R-NC)
18. Representative John J. Duncan, Jr. (R-TN)
19. Representative Jim Bridenstine (R-OK)
20. Representative Justin Amash (R-MI)
21. Representative James Comer (R-KY)
22. Representative Warren Davidson (R-OH)
23. Representative Bob Goodlatte (R-VA)
24. Representative David Schweikert (R-AZ)
25. Representative Richard Hudson (R-NC)
26. Representative Mark Walker (R-NC)
27. Representative Mark Sanford (R-SC)
28. Representative Jody Hice (R-GA)
29. Representative Jeb Hensarling (R-TX)
30. Representative Ted Yoho (R-FL)
31. Representative Ron DeSantis (R-FL)
32. Representative Marsha Blackburn (R-TN)
33. Representative Jim Banks (R-IN)
34. Representative Ken Buck (R-CO)
35. Representative Brad Wenstrup (R-OH)
36. Representative Steve Chabot (R-OH)
37. Representative Doug Lamborn (R-CO)
38. Representative Jason Smith (R-MO)
39. Representative Raul Labrador (R-ID)
40. Representative Sam Johnson (R-TX)
41. Representative George Holding (R-NC)
42. Representative Morgan Griffith (R-VA)
43. Representative Tom Emmer (R-MN)
44. Representative Chris Stewart (R-UT)
45. Representative Jeff Duncan (R-SC)
46. Representative Trent Franks (R-AZ)
47. Representative Francis Rooney (R-FL)
48. Representative Andy Barr (R-KY)
49. Representative Glenn Grothman (R-WI)
50. Representative Trent Kelly (R-MS)
51. Representative Robert Pittenger (R-NC)
52. Representative Randy Hultgren (R-IL)
53. Representative French Hill (R-AR)
54. Representative Kenny Marchant (R-TX)
55. Representative Roger Williams (R-TX)
56. Representative Bruce Westerman (R-AR)
57. Representative John Ratcliffe (R-TX)
58. Representative Andy Biggs (R-AZ)
59. Representative Jason Lewis (R-MN)
60. Representative Joe Barton (R-TX)
61. Representative Bill Huizenga (R-MI)
62. Representative David Rouzer (R-NC)
63. Representative David Kustoff (R-TN)
64. Representative Tom Graves (R-GA)
65. Representative Diane Black (R-TN)
66. Representative Daniel Webster (R-FL)


115th Congress, 1st Session, Senate:

1. Senator James Lankford (R-OK)
2. Senator Jeff Flake (R-AZ)
3. Senator Mike Lee (R-UT)
4. Senator Pat Toomey (R-PA)
5. Senator Jim Risch (R-ID)
6. Senator Steve Daines (R-MT)
7. Senator Ben Sasse (R-NE)
8. Senator Ron Johnson (R-WI)
9. Senator Marco Rubio (R-FL)
10. Senator Rand Paul, M.D. (R-KY)
11. Senator Jim Inhofe (R-OK)
12. Senator Mike Crapo (R-ID)
13. Senator John Barrasso, M.D. (R-WY)
14. Senator Michael B. Enzi (R-WY)
15. Senator Tim Scott (R-SC)