2016 Taxpayers' Friends Award Winners

Every year National Taxpayers Union (NTU) rates U.S. Representatives and Senators on their actual votes--every vote that affects taxes, spending, and debt. Unlike most organizations that publish ratings, we refuse to play the "rating game" of focusing on only a handful of congressional votes on selected issues. The NTU voting study is the fairest and most accurate guide available on congressional spending. It is a completely unbiased accounting of votes.

  • Click here view the NTU Rates Congress Results for the 2nd Session of the 114th Congress.
  • You may view the 2016 list of Taxpayers' Friends in the House and Senate here.
  • To view the list of votes used to establish the NTU Ratings, please click here.
  • NTU's press release for the 2016 Rating is found here.

2016 Taxpayers' Friends Award Winners


  1. Senator Mike Lee (R-UT)

  2. Senator Jeff Flake (R-AZ)

  3. Senator Ben Sasse (R-NE)


  1. Representative Justin Amash (R-MI)

  2. Representative Raúl R. Labrador (R-ID)

  3. Representative Thomas Massie (R-KY)

  4. Representative Paul Gosar (R-AZ)

  5. Representative F. James Sensenbrenner, Jr. (R-WI)

  6. Representative Tom McClintock (R-CA)

  7. Representative Stephen Fincher (R-TN)

  8. Representative Mick Mulvaney (R-SC)

  9. Representative Gary Palmer (R-AL)

  10. Representative John J. Duncan, Jr. (R-TN)

  11. Representative Michael C. Burgess, M.D. (R-TX)

  12. Representative Jaime Herrera Beutler (R-WA)

  13. Representative Scott Garrett (R-NJ)

  14. Representative Dave Brat (R-VA)

  15. Representative Matt Salmon (R-AZ)