Coalition of Over 30 Groups Urge Congress Not to Attach Renewable Energy Tax Extenders to FAA Reauthorization

Dear Chairman Hatch and Ranking Member Wyden: 

On behalf of our organizations and the millions of Americans we represent, we write to express our strong opposition to extending expiring renewable energy provisions on upcoming legislation reauthorizing the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA).  

Congress considered the matter of expiring tax provisions less than 4 months ago. The $680 billion package signed into law in December made some of these items permanent and allowed more than two dozen others to expire at the end of this past year, laying the groundwork for comprehensive tax reform. The $1.4 billion in expiring tax provisions currently under consideration — pertaining to wind power, geothermal heat pumps, fuel cell facilities and combined heat and power (CHP) properties — are a distortion of the tax laws for special interests in the renewable energy industry and were wisely left out of this package. 

It should also be noted that Congress extended significantly favorable tax treatment to renewable energy in omnibus appropriation legislation that accompanied the aforementioned tax extender package. This bill included 5-year extensions of the main federal provisions for renewables, the wind production tax credit (PTC) and the solar investment tax credit (ITC), at a cost of $23.8 billion over the next decade.  

Government subsidies, loans, mandates, and tax policies regarding renewables have consistently failed to deliver on their promises of long-term job creation and economic viability. Americans deserve access to energy solutions that are affordable and reliable—ones that should be able to stand on their own in the marketplace. 

We encourage you to oppose efforts to use unrelated legislation as a vehicle to extend expiring tax provisions for renewable energy. Thank you for your consideration. 


Brent Gardner, Vice President of Government Affairs
Americans for Prosperity
Amy Noone Frederick, President
60 Plus Association
Phil Kerpen, President
American Commitment
Dan Schneider, Executive Director
Matt Schlapp, Chairman
American Conservative Union
George David Banks, Executive Vice President
American Council for Capital Formation
Sean Noble, President
American Encore
Tom Pyle, President
American Energy Alliance
Coley Jackson, President
Americans for Competitive Enterprise
Peter J. Thomas, Chairman
Americans for Constitutional Liberty
Richard Manning, President
Americans for Limited Government
Grover Norquist, President
Americans for Tax Reform
Marita Noon, Executive Director
Citizens' Alliance for Responsible Energy (CARE)
Tom Brinkman Jr., Chairman
Coalition Opposed to Additional Spending and Taxes (COAST)
Myron Ebell, Director, Center for Energy and Environment
Competitive Enterprise Institute
Dan Caldwell, Vice President for Political and Legislative Action
Concerned Veterans for America
Tom Schatz, President
Council for Citizens Against Government Waste
Craig Richardson, Executive Director
Energy & Environment Legal Institute (E&E Legal)
Marita Noon, Executive Director
Energy Makes America Great
Dick Ribbentrop, Senior Vice President, Policy
Freedom Partners Chamber of Commerce
Wayne T. Brough, Ph.D., Chief Economist and VP for Research
George Landrith, President
Frontiers of Freedom
Andrew Clark, President
Generation Opportunity
Michael A. Needham, Chief Executive Officer
Heritage Action for America
Andrew Langer, President
Institute for Liberty
Seton Motley, President
Less Government
Daniel Garza, Executive Director
The LIBRE Initiative
Dee Hodges, President
Maryland Taxpayers Association
Harry C. Alford, President/CEO
National Black Chamber of Commerce
Amy Ridenour, Chairman
National Center for Public Policy Research
Willes K. Lee, President
National Federation of Republican Assemblies
Pete Sepp, President
National Taxpayers Union
David Williams, President
Taxpayers Protection Alliance
Judson Phillips, Founder
Tea Party Nation
Brooke Rollins, President
Texas Public Policy Foundation