America's independent, non-partisan advocate for overburdened taxpayers.


Blog Contributors

Brandon Arnold
Vice President of Government Affairs 

Dan Barrett
Research and Outreach Manager 

Melodie Bowler
Government Affairs Intern 

Demian Brady
Director of Research 

Christina DiSomma
Communications Intern 

Jihun Han
Communications Intern 

Timothy Howland
Creative Content Manager 

Samantha Jordan
Communications Intern 

Curtis Kalin
Communications Intern 

Ross Kaminsky
Blog Contributor 

David Keating
Blog Contributor 

Douglas Kellogg
Communications Manager 

Sharon Koss
Government Affairs Intern 

Michael Liguori
Government Affairs Intern 

Richard Lipman
Director of Development 

Joe Michalowski
Government Affairs Intern 

Diana Oprinescu
Communications Intern 

Austin Peters
Communications Intern 

Kristina Rasmussen
Blog Contributor 

Alternative Fuel Vehicles Program & Travel Cards in NTUF's Taxpayer's Tab

November 17, 2011

Did you miss this week's issue of NTUF's Taxpayer's Tab?  If so, here's a quick recap.

This week NTUF puts two bills head-to-head:  S. 1001, introduced by Senator Ron Wyden (D-OR) [pictured], would expand would expand the Advanced Technology Vehicles Manufacturing Incentive Program and would fund research into alternative fuels infrastructure.  The bill would provide federal funding in the form of direct loans or loan guarantees to help existing facilities retrofit their operations to produce energy-efficient light-duty vehicles and their components or to develop alternatively-fueled vehicles.  NTUF estimates that S. 1001 would cost taxpayers $958 million over five years.

Congressman Bill Flores (R-TX) has sponsored H.R. 3306, which would eliminate, rather than expand, the ATV Manufacturing Loan Program.  According to statements made by Congressman Flores for the Republican Study Committee’s YouCut initiative, H.R. 3306 would result in a $4 billion taxpayer savings in the first year of implementation.

The WildCard:  Congressman Kevin Brady (R-TX), Congressman Rick Larsen (D-WA), and Senator Maria Cantwell (D-WA) have introduced -- H.R. 2042, H.R. 3312, and S. 1487 -- the APEC Business Travel Cards Act to decrease travel time for businessmen and women from countries in the Asia-Pacific Economic Conference (APEC).

The Least Expensive Bill:  Congressman Jeff Denham (R-CA) and Senator Scott Brown (R-MA) have sponsored H.R. 1734 and S. 1503, the Civilian Property Realignment Act, "to reduce the budget deficit by streamlining the federal property disposal and realignment process."  Sixty percent of the proceeds from the sales would be required to go to deficit reduction.   Senator Brown cites an OMB estimate that the bill would save taxpayers $15 billion over three years. CPRA authorizes $88 million in new spending for the commission, which NTUF subtracted from the initial $15 billion.

The Most Friended Bill:  Congressman Bob Goodlatte (R-VA) has sponsored H.R. 704, Security and Fairness Enhancement (SAFE) for America Act of 2011.  The SAFE Act would eliminate the Diversity Immigrant Visa Program.  CBO determined that H.R. 704 would save $147 million over its first four years starting in FY 2013. The elimination of the program would result in fewer immigrants coming into the country -- approximately 51,000 annually -- and fewer permanent residents. House cosponsors include three Democrats and 40 Republicans.

For more details, including NTUF's preliminary cost estimates for each of these bills, read the entire Taxpayer's Tab online.

You can receive your own copy of The Taxpayer's Tab each week via email by signing up here.

Remember, you can support NTUF and its ongoing work by making a tax-deductible contribution here.


Comment on this blog

Enter this word:

User Comments