

If enacted, Amendment 58 on Colorado's November ballot will have substantial negative consequences for the state and its citizens. By raising taxes on oil and natural gas production, the initiative would have the effect of raising energy prices on consumers and discouraging growth in Colorado's economy.

Colorado is an energy-rich state, particularly when it comes to natural gas. This should be a time of expansion and investment in the state's energy infrastructure, yielding benefits for all Coloradans through more plentiful energy and quality jobs. Amendment 58 threatens these desirable developments by resorting to a vengeful tax hike.

The initiative's supporters seem to suggest that this punitive tax will somehow redress record profits of oil and gas companies, but the ultimate effect of Amendment 58 is to double the tax rate on oil and gas production in Colorado. According to one study, Amendment 58 would cause Colorado's oil and natural gas projects to suffer the second-highest production tax burden among top energy-producing states. In their quest to extract money from oil and natural gas companies, initiative sponsors are ensuring higher prices for the energy Coloradans need.

Taxing an activity, by its nature, generally decreases that activity. If history is any lesson, enacting Amendment 58 would cause state production of oil and natural gas to decrease, meaning imports will have to make up the difference. Just as important, this tax hike would discourage new investments in oil and natural gas production.

Despite claims to the contrary, the burden of any tax falls squarely on the shoulders of consumers, workers, and shareholders such as retirees or mutual fund investors. We can safely predict that this measure will cause reduced state oil and gas production, fewer economic opportunities, increased reliance on imports, and higher energy prices.

If Colorado policymakers want to pursue a sound energy policy, they ought to keep taxes low and reduce government interference in the markets that are capable of delivering innovative energy solutions to consumers. Attempts to punish successful industries and redirect money to programs favored by politicians have failed to solve our energy problems in the past, and there's no reason to think this effort will be any different.

Sincerely,\*

A. Paul Ballantyne W. James Smith\*\*

University of Colorado at Colorado Springs University of Colorado at Denver

Arthur A. Fleischer III Michael E. Williams Metropolitan State College of Denver University of Denver

Barry W. Poulson University of Colorado at Boulder

<sup>\*</sup> Affiliations listed for identification purposes only.

<sup>\*\*</sup> Signature added after September 30, 2008

Donald L. Alexander\*\*

Western Michigan University

Howard Baetjer, Jr. Towson University

Wendy C. Bailey Troy University

Charles W. Baird\*\*

California State University – East Bay

Timothy R. Bastian Creighton University

Samuel Bostaph University of Dallas

Scott C. Bradford

Brigham Young University

H. Sterling Burnett

National Center for Policy Analysis

William N. Butos

Trinity College

Noel D. Campbell\*\*

University of Central Arkansas

Roy E. Cordato

John Locke Foundation

Mike Cosgrove

The Econoclast

Jim F. Couch\*\*

University of North Alabama

Nicole V. Crain

Lafayette College

Antony Davies\*\*
Duquesne University

A. Edward Day

University of Central Florida

Joseph S. DeSalvo

University of South Florida

Isaac DiIanni\*\*

Northeastern State University

Jeffrey H. Dorfman University of Georgia

Floyd H. Duncan\*\*

Virginia Military Institute

James R. Edwards

Montana State University - Northern

Bert Ely

Ely & Company, Inc.

Richard E. Ericson

East Carolina University

Frank Falero

California State University – Bakersfield

W. Ken Farr

Georgia College & State University

John A. Flanders

Central Methodist University

Michelle Michot Foss

University of Texas at Austin

Dave Garthoff

University of Akron

Gabriel Gasave\*\*

The Independent Institute

Robert Genetski

Classical principles.com

Paul J. Gessing

**Rio Grande Foundation** 

Joseph A. Giacalone\*\*

St. John's University

Micha Gisser

**Rio Grande Foundation** 

Rodolfo A. Gonzalez

San José State University

J. Edward Graham Lawrence W. Lovik University of North Carolina – Wilmington Alabama Policy Institute D.W. MacKenzie Wendy Gramm Former Chairwoman The Coast Guard Academy Commodity Futures Trading Commission Yuri N. Maltsev John D. Grether Carthage College Northwood University – Michigan Campus Henry G. Manne\*\* J. Daniel Hammond George Mason University Wake Forest University Deryl W. Martin Tennessee Technological University Reza G. Hamzaee Missouri Western State University Roger E. Meiners University of Texas at Arlington Charles L. Hooper Hoover Institution John Merrifield University of Texas at San Antonio Joseph M. Jadlow Oklahoma State University Michael C. Munger **Duke University** Marianne Jennings Arizona State University Richard F. Muth James L. Johnston\*\* **Emory University** The Heartland Institute James B. O'Neill\*\* University of Delaware Raymond J. Keating Small Business & Entrepreneurship Council Evan Osborne Wright State University David N. Laband Auburn University H. Edwin Overcast Black & Veatch William E. Laird Karen Y. Palasek Florida State University John Locke Foundation Daniel L. Landau University of Connecticut – Waterbury Douglas Patterson Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University George Langelett South Dakota State University Judd W. Patton Stan Liebowitz Bellevue University

Dartmouth College
Richard W. Rahn
Herbert London
Institute for Global Economic Growth

University of Texas at Dallas

Dennis Logue

Pedro V. Piffaut\*\*

Columbia University

R. David Ranson

H.C. Wainwright & Co. Economics, Inc.

Richard Rawlins

Missouri Southern State University

George Reisman

Pepperdine University

Antonio L. Rosado

Puerto Rico Economists Association

John Ruggiero

University of Dayton

Thomas Rustici

George Mason University

John Rutledge

Rutledge Capital, LLC

Thomas R. Saving

Texas A&M University

Paul Schoofs Ripon College

Mike Schuyler

Institute for Research on the Economics of

Taxation

Larry J. Sechrest

Sul Ross State University

Howard Segermark

American Family Business Institute

Richard T. Selden

University of Virginia

Alan C. Shapiro

University of Southern California

William F. Shughart II

University of Mississippi

Neil T. Skaggs

Illinois State University

Neil Snyder

University of Virginia

John C. Soper\*\*

John Carroll University

Craig A. Stephenson

Babson College

David M. Switzer

St. Cloud State University

Robert Tamura

Clemson University

Teresa Tharp

Valencia Community College

Alex Tokarev

The King's College

Leo Troy

Rutgers University – Newark

Charles D. Van Eaton\*\*

Bryan College

Richard K. Vedder

Ohio University

John H. Wicks

University of Montana

Wayne H. Winegarden

Arduin, Laffer & Moore Econometrics

Gary Wolfram

Hillsdale College

Mike Wohlgenant\*\*

North Carolina State University

Thomas Wyrick

Missouri State University

Bill Yang

Georgia Southern University

John S. Zdanowicz

Florida International University

Benjamin Zycher

Manhattan Institute for Policy Research