America's independent, non-partisan advocate for overburdened taxpayers.


Blog Contributors

Brandon Arnold
Vice President of Government Affairs 

Dan Barrett
Research and Outreach Manager 

Melodie Bowler
Government Affairs Intern 

Demian Brady
Director of Research 

Christina DiSomma
Communications Intern 

Jihun Han
Communications Intern 

Timothy Howland
Creative Content Manager 

Samantha Jordan
Communications Intern 

Curtis Kalin
Communications Intern 

Ross Kaminsky
Blog Contributor 

David Keating
Blog Contributor 

Douglas Kellogg
Communications Manager 

Sharon Koss
Government Affairs Intern 

Michael Liguori
Government Affairs Intern 

Richard Lipman
Director of Development 

Joe Michalowski
Government Affairs Intern 

Diana Oprinescu
Communications Intern 

Austin Peters
Communications Intern 

Kristina Rasmussen
Blog Contributor 

The Commission on Fiscal Responsibility and Reform: Protecting Your Green?

March 17, 2010

UPDATE:  Mar. 25 -- Nancy Pelosi has announced her picks.  See them here.


With today being about the wearing of the green, I thought it useful to take a look at the members of the National Commssision on Fiscal Responsiblity and Reform who are supposed to look out for your green.  The commission is charged with creating proposals that will trim short-term deficits by 2015 as well as correct long-term structural imbalances created by entitlement programs.  Last week, Republican leaders in the House and Senate made their appointments to the 18-member commission, which means that it is almost complete -- House Speaker Nancy Pelosi's picks haven't been announced yet. 

The table below contains committee members and their most recent NTU Rates Congress score, if applicable, to give you a sense of how taxpayer-friendly the commission's recommendations might -- or might not -- be.

Members of the National Commission on Fiscal Responsibility & Reform and Their NTU Rates Congress Score
President Obama's Appointees:
  Erskine Bowles, Co-chairman
  Alan Simpson, Co-chairman
B (1996)
  Ann Fudge
  Alice Rivlin
  Andy Stern
Harry Reid's Appointees:
  Max Baucus (D-ND)
  Kent Conrad (D-ND)
  Dick Durbin (D-ND)
Mitch MConnell's Appointees:
  Mike Crapo (R-ID)
  Tom Coburn (R-OK)
  Judd Gregg (R-NH)
Nancy Pelosi's Appointees:
John Boehner's Appointees:
  Dave Camp (R-MI)
  Jeb Hensarling (R-TX)
  Paul Ryan (R-WI)


Comment on this blog

Enter this word:

User Comments

Submitted by anneta at: June 15, 2010
Judging from the video , everything is taken rather seriously and President is determined to do what he has planned. We'll see...

Submitted by Janus at: March 18, 2010
I hope that Nancy picks people who stand up for the hard working people of this country and who will fight for the social safety net in America that you and your Republican friends are always trying to cut.